Game pics from 40K, plus Tomorrow’s War

Played 40K again last Thursday. Got whupped but kinda expected it. I blame my dice and general muddleheaded-ness trying to learn the rules. I put a whole load of pictures up on Flicker, which you can check out at this link. To whet your appetite, here are a few good ones from the game.

Rising Sun Chapter

Chaplain, Dreadnought and Captain

A better shot of the Dreadnought's banners

Scary view!

One vs. many

This is what happens when you don't pay attention to detail!

There is a writeup over on the 40K Fight Club forums too.

In other new, I picked up a copy of Tomorrow’s War at last. I’ve only just started getting into it, but already I can say this is the successor to Stargrunt. TW has Stargrunt’s DNA all over it – effectiveness based on troop quality instead of weapons, real leadership effects, and a brilliant action-reaction sequence of play that keeps you involved at all times. I have fun with 40K, but to be honest I really dislike the Igo-Ugo turn sequence which I find artificial and primitive. But everything about TW is pushing minis rules in the direction I want them to go.

I’m really looking forward to getting the Pig Iron minis on the table again, and getting deep into Tomorrow’s War! Expect more on this before the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

