More magnet madness!

A comment on that last post (thank you!) asked me about the magnets I use.

I’m using 1/8″ diameter x 1/32″ thick magnets for magnetizing the Marines’ arms. I got them off eBay from a seller in Hawaii.

To magnetize the arms, one goes in the shoulder on the torso and the other goes in the arm. I had originally tried using 1/16″ x 1/32″ magnets on the wrists so I could switch weapons at the hand but those magnets are so small they don’t stick together very strongly, so I decided I would just do them at the shoulder. But I might try the 1/16″ in the wrists again if I were building a model that had a two-handed grip on its weapon – when I eventually get around to building some Devastators I may try this.

I use 1/4″ and 1/8″ magnets on my vehicles and dreadnoughts. The 1/4″ ones I use for the dreadnought arms and hardpoints on the Rhinos. The larger size makes for a very positive attachment. I used 1/8″ magnets on the smaller vehicle fittings, like the weapon components on the Razorback.

The next time I put something together with magnets (probably a Predator) I’ll take some pics of the process.

Leave a Reply

