Signing off for 2011

Had a pretty good year with my miniatures hobby. The main news item for me was slipping back into painting and playing 40K, which is something I thought I would not do. As far as that goes, I’m enjoying painting the models a lot. The game itself is fun but can’t replace Stargrunt in my heart (!). That said, I think I only played SG once or twice this year, which is sad. But I did have another game of Tomorrow’s War yesterday (that sounds weird) and discovered once again how much I like that game. It’s forcing a bit of a change of perception on both myself and Chris R. as we learn it, but the way it handles things is engaging and fun. I’m looking forward to more TW next year for sure!

As for painting, I’m riding a wave of enthusiasm for painting my Space Marines. Maybe holding back from it for over 20 years has resulted in this pent up wave of energy to paint Space Marines now. Whatever, I’m doing it! I’m sort of entertaining the idea of trying to paint at least one unit, single miniature or single vehicle per month. Then by the end of the year I’ll have a ridiculous amount of Marines to display! <crazy>

But there are other minis that have caught my eye and maybe my wallet. I’d still like to go further into 15mm territory (since I think a game like TW would be really great at this scale). And there are several companies putting out new 28mm sci-fi minis that I’m looking forward to seeing.

One thing I’d like to try to do is push my painting technique a little further. I’ve done some repaints of my older work this year and it allowed me to compare it to the way I paint now. I’ve come a long way, but still have a long way to go.

So, 2011 was good and I think 2012 will be at least as good, if not better!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

