Up to no good! EPIC

Still painting 40K stuff. What can I say, I’ve always liked the minis as I’ve said before. Stargrunt is still a far better game (and I need to get another game of that in I think). But lately, I’ve been playing 40K. Perhaps the more interesting news is, I have a game of Epic Space Marine laid on this week!

Yes, it’s been about 6 years since I last played, a big 6,000 point game played with my buddy Bruce as a send-off when I left Japan. As I recall our very first game of Epic all those years ago was a 6,000-pointer – we just went for it and put all our toys on the table. It was awesome.

I know you can play Apocalypse in 40K, but frankly, it looks silly. The table is filled with models with no room to maneuver and you just shove them all together. If you want to go big, you need more space and it’s better to up the scale, which is where Epic shines. You have more room to maneuver, the ranges feel more believable, the units are more manageable, and you can have a lot of super-heavy vehicles and Titans running around. Since units die fairly easily in Epic, it feels more like a big battle, with whole units wiped out in one go. The overhead view of an Epic game is…well, Epic!

The game I’m playing is part of a campaign of regular 40K. It’s a battle between the Nimbus Planetary Defense Force (represented by Imperial Guard units) and the Relictors Space Marines, who have been declared Excommunicate Traitoris and are out doing bad things like invading Imperial worlds.

So I’ve been reviewing the rules on my commute lately and remembering how simple they were. As with any rules GW writes, there were holes but nothing you couldn’t fill with some house rules.

Here are the forces we’re using:

Nimbus PDF (IG)

Image

Tactical Company, Heavy Support Detachment
Tactical Company, Capitol Imperialis, Leman Russ Detachment
Assault Company, Sentinel Detachment
Artillery Company, Ogryn Detachment

Relictors (SM)

Image

Tactical Company, Space Marine Commander, Whirlwind Detachment, Thunderhawk
Assault Company, Bike Detachment, Terminator Detachment
Land Raider Company

In other news, I’m working on a Land Raider Crusader. Should have that done in another week or two. I also painted a Space Marine Librarian a few weeks ago.

Image

Leave a Reply

