Salute UK

Ah, if I win the Mega Millions lottery, I will be going to Salute UK next year in high style. Chartered jet, swank hotel suite, chauffered limo, the works. Plenty of cash to buy all the miniatures I could ever want and hire the best painters I could find to paint the stuff I wouldn’t have time to do myself.

Fantasy aside, I would really love to go to Salute UK, one of the biggest, if not the biggest, wargames conventions in the world. I understand Adepticon is running close second, but Salute’s emphasis on any and all types of miniatures wargaming is very attractive. Just looking at their list of games makes my head spin. Everything from sci-fi and fantasy to historicals of every time period. Dozens and dozens of manufacturers. Ah, I’d love to go.

Any of you ever been to Salute UK? What was it like? What did you do?

3 Responses to “Salute UK”

  1. I’ve been going to Salute for a few years, here are some tips:

    1. There’s so much to see, you have to be systematic if you want to check it all out. I usually turn left and work my way up and down the aisles from left to right.

    2. if I see something I might want to buy, if it’s more than a couple of quid I make a note of the manufacturer and the stall, then carry on. Then I go back later on – the cooling off period helps overspending!

    3. I always pick up any leaflets that are available so i can check stuff out at home after the show.

    4. it’s easy to get too spendy, so I have a budget and don’t let myself go over it (OK, maybe just a little)

    5. take a couple of breaks outside of the show as the lighting is very hard on the eyes when you’re straining to make out detail

    Cheers,

    Jodrell

  2. I go every year, but then I live but 35 minutes away, so it’s a little easier for me. I usually spend too much on stuff I want, but don’t need. Marvel at the amazing games and displays that people put on, marvel at the prices of some stuff, pick up a bargain or two, marvel at the amazing stink that some people have and try to spot the bored spouses doing pennance with their gamer other half. In the last few years my nephews have been old enough to take along and they really enjoy it too.

  3. stingersix Says:

    @Jodrell – Those are some very reasonable tips, for almost any sort of convention (particularly about cooling off to avoid overspending – I’m an inveterate impulse buyer).

    @ GJD – 35 minutes away! Lucky you! I’d be making a major trip out of it if I ever went, seeing as how I live on the Pacific coast of the U.S. I did promise the spouse that if we did ever go, I’d cut her loose in London while I went and got my geek on at the con, sparing her the “penance”. 😉

Leave a Reply

