Catching up – Landspeeder, Scouts, campaign games!

Whoa, no posts for over a month! Sorry folks! I have indeed been busy.
On the painting and modeling front, I finished a Landspeeder and a squad of Scout Snipers. Check out the slideshow for the pics!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Landspeeder is magnetized to switch out the bow and gunner’s weapons, and the side panels can be removed and the Typhoon missile launchers attached.

The scouts are a mix of the plastic snipers and a handful of the old metal snipers, which I quite like. I knew I wanted to do camouflage cloaks, and I knew it would be a bit tedious to paint (and it was) but once I figured out how to do it, it went fairly smoothly. It’s three colors, grey, dark green and a mix of dark green and brown. The pattern is not exactly like the digital camo pattern you see on modern military uniforms, but a patchwork of square shapes. At the size they’re painted on the mini, they do make the pattern look right at normal viewing distance. I painted on the grey layer, then the green and then the green/brown mix. This was then washed with a very thinned out mix of black, brown and purple. Fortunately, it came out looking okay.

The Sgt. Telion mini serves as Sgt. Oda in my Rising Suns army. This was actually my first Finecast miniature. There were a few tiny little air bubbles but I took care of those with liquid green stuff right quick. I also filed off all the Ultramarines markings, which is very easy to do with Finecast.

At the moment, I have a Vindicator assembled on my painting desk awaiting priming this weekend. I just got it the other day and until then, I’d been working on some Tactical Marines with special weapons, just to use as fillers and to spend my painting time on while I waited to get the Vindi. I should have this one done by the end of the month.

In other news, I have been involved in running a very fun narrative 40K campaign at EndGame. We had our third game last Saturday and it went really well. You can check out the story thread here. There is another thread with pics from the event here. We will be running our next game in the series in January. It’s open to everyone, but space is limited and sign-ups are on a first-come-first-served basis. But, if you’re in the area, we’d be happy to see you across the gaming table.

Leave a Reply

