All Quiet on the Martian Front – U.S. Army

Once I got going on the U.S. Army units in the AQoMF starter box, I knew they wouldn’t take too long. Minis at this scale (18mm) go much faster than 28s. Also, I had promised myself that when I finished them, I would paint the Martian Tripods. I’ve painted I don’t know how many G.I.s and Doughboys over the years – a lot. But I have never painted a Martian Tripod, and I am now really looking forward to it. That and getting some games in when I finish!

Here are the Rough Riders I finished today. These guys are like a suicide squad – they race into contact with the Tripods, fire those grappling hook guns and then ride around the ‘pods playing out a cable to tangle up their legs and bring the alien war machines down! Awesome!

photo 1

And here’s the painted U.S. Army force that comes in the starter set.

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Now, on to the Martian menace!

photo 5

One Response to “All Quiet on the Martian Front – U.S. Army”

  1. Superb job on the infantry and the tanks
    Love the weathering
    At gencon two of the Mk II had sandbags on the center of the roof for added crew protection
    It was a neat little addition for variety

Leave a Reply

